News Flash

Police News

Posted on: April 2, 2019

Frederick Police Annual Promotion, Retirement, and Award Ceremony Recipients Announced



 April 2, 2019

Police Annual Promotion, Retirement, and Award Ceremony Recipients Announced

FREDERICK, MD - The Frederick Police Department Promotion, Award, and Retirement Annual Ceremony was held on Friday, March 29, 2019, at the All Saints Episcopal Church.  This annual event is held to highlight the accomplishments over the previous calendar year and to thank them for their commitment to our city. 

“Our Ceremony highlights the many contributions and outstanding police work that our members provided to the Frederick community this past year. In addition, we have the honor of recognizing those members who were recently promoted to new leadership positions and also take time to thank those recently retired for their faithful and dedicated service to our great city”, stated Chief Hargis.

The Department is pleased to announce the following awards:  Additional information, write-ups, and photos can be found at LINK


  • Lt. Bruce DeGrange
  • Lt. Michael Lee
  • Sgt. James Brown
  • Sgt. Duane Ertter


  • Lt. Paul Beliveau
  • Lt. Sean Carr
  • Sgt. Charles Snyder
  • Cpl. Sean Carpenter
  • Cpl. Jason Essel
  • Cpl. Kevin Forrest
  • Cpl. Jorge Garcia
  • Cpl. Stephanie Sparks
  • Cpl. Shannon Stream
  • Cpl. Daniel Sullivan
  • Cpl. Benjamin Wilson


  • Lt. Sean Carr
  • OFC. Scott McGregor


  • Lt. Sean Carr, Sgt. Vince Brown, Sgt. Jonathan Shatlock, OFC Marlon Alvarez, OFC Thomas Edwards, OFC Aaron Gregware, OFC Michael McGrew, OFC Nicholas Rippeon, OFC Douglas Stephenson, and OFC Sheena Yohe


  • Cpl. Christopher Prior, Cpl. Benjamin Wilson, OFC. Christopher Chiaravalloti, OFC James Clark, OFC Tyler Deatrich, OFC David Dewees, OFC Scott Grigsby, OFC Kyle Jones, OFC Gregory Loftis, OFC Scott Long, OFC Paul Malatesta, OFC Kyrie Wolfe, and Off. Daniel Gerand

UNIT CITATION:  Communications Section

  • Deborah Alston, Adam Cregger, Zachary Davis, Connor Drake, Kaitlyn Dunn, Jennifer Estep, Tyler Hill, Audrey Hillard, Whitney Houch, Paige Milyard, Keyona Quintin, Tara Thompson, John White, and Justina Whitmore

MUTUAL AID AWARD:  Frederick County Sheriff’s Office

  • Sgt. Amanda Ensor, Cpl. Mark Sturm, DFC Jason Brady, DFC Patrick McCarrick, DFC Bryce McGuire, DFC Kaitlyn Moxley, DFC Ira Redman, DFC Sean Sheehy, Dep. Amber Blackmire, Dep. Brandon Jewell, and Dep. Tara Naughten


  •  Cynthia Henderickson
  • Brittany Parks


EMPLOYEE OF THE YEAR:   John White, Communications Supervisor


  • Det. Patrick Spevak
  • Sabrina Swan, Crime Scene Technician

 For more information on the ceremony please contact Michele Bowman at 301-600-2091 /

PR bottom

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Police News

Officers Make Arrests for Assault

Posted on: June 3, 2019

Frederick Half Marathon: This Sunday

Posted on: April 29, 2019

FPD to Offer Citizen Police Academy

Posted on: June 13, 2019