Blighted and Vacant Property Committee


The Blighted and Vacant Property Ad-Hoc Committee was appointed by Mayor McClement to evaluate the current status of and policies regarding vacant and blighted commercial and residential properties in the city, and recommend policy initiatives (regulations and incentives) to encourage/require reasonable maintenance, reinvestment and occupancy of such properties. That effort was broken into two phases: 1) Commercial Properties and 2) Residential Properties. The Phase I report - blighted and vacant commercial properties - was presented to the Mayor and Board of Aldermen on July 11, 2012. The Phase II report - residential properties - was presented at the December 5, 2012 workshop.

On September 5, 2012, the Mayor and Board approved and passed ordinance G-13-20 for the purpose of creating procedures under which the City may petition the District Court for appointment of a receiver to rehabilitate blighted structures, to demolish blighted structures, or to sell blighted structures and associated real property to qualified buyers.

Phase 1 - Commercial Property Recommendations Report
Phase 2 - Residential Property Recommendations Report

Blighted Property Structure and Watchlist Presentation 1/20/16

Current Blighted Property and Watch Property List

2016 Meeting Dates

January 13, 20
February 3, 17
March 2, 16
April 6, 20
May 4, 18
June 1, 15


Agendas are available prior to meeting.

Most Recent Agenda

| View All


Minutes are available upon approval.
Most Recent Minutes | View All

Committee Members

Commercial Property Owner - Mike Bowersox & Tony Checchia
Commercial Real Estate Broker – Steve Cranford & Rusty McCabe
Residential Real Estate – Kathryn Ann McKenzie
Banking Industry Representative – David Esworthy
Community Development/Non-Profit – Kara Norman (Downtown Frederick Partnership) & Tee Pecora (Golden Mile Alliance representative)
City Residents – Matthew Donahue, Truby LaGarde, Ruthelen Greene, Steve Stoyke, Kathy Griffee

City Staff

Mayor’s Office – Nikki Bamonti
Public Works – Zack Kershner
Economic Development – Richard Griffin
Police – Meredith Wivell
Legal – Rachel Depo
Planning – Joe Adkins
Code Enforcement – Dan Hoffman & Brittany Parks